There were Stone clouds in the air.

So, I decided to stay inside.

I put off all my duties as a man,

Due to, stone clouds in the sky.

The stone clouds rattled a consternation;

I was so afraid I’d be caught under rain.

I did not go to the grocer-

I had no food to eat that entire day.

There were stone clouds in the air,

Sadly reluctant to open my window.

If I allowed the cold breeze in…

What would you propose I do with the truth it brings-

A thought of solace came to mind,

I scheduled to visit a friend.

But, again, I stayed in.

So, a shallow apology and rehearsed word of comfort sent via text took my place-

No work- I called in “sick.”
Had many thoughts, but I did not share them.
A gesture to clean, acted without motion- no one is coming over– leave it.

Steadfast, stuck, my senseless fear made me too stubborn to move.

There were stone clouds in the air

I was so afraid I’d be caught under rain.

Hours waisted; not a task was completed-

That day it did not rain…

