I must have worked a month of nights,

Preparing this all for you.

A clean house,

In new clothes,

Dinner ready and kept warm for you while you drive home.

I must have worked a month of nights

Awaiting your arrival here.

Your appreciation,

An accolade,

To say, “Welcome home…” and that, “I love you.” And in-turn, you say the same.

I must have worked a month of nights,

On my knees in the front garden.

Planting seeds that were meant to grow with us,

Repairing the holes time made in the roof

And the rotten stair that I had once fallen through.

I must have worked a month of nights

Separate floors,

Newly furnished

Paintings hanging-

A few mirrors on the wall to enlarge the room.

All my efforts meant to please you.

I must have cried a thousand nights

Realizing

After

Waiting,

Waiting

And pacing.

We were never going to share this home.

All my labors were wasted time.

